Clark County is fortunate to have many historical attractions that are open to the public.
If you enjoy local history, be sure to check out these affiliated historic attractions.
Howard Steamboat Museum
The Howard Steamboat Museum, in the Howard family home, is located in Jeffersonville, Indiana. The museum features a collection of items from the oward Ship Yards and includes chandeliers, carvings, arches, and a grand staircase that have remained in the home since the Howards lived there.
Thomas Downs House
The Thomas Downs House is owned and managed by the Clark's Grant Historical Society. The house is located in Charlestown, just east of the town square. It was built in 1809 and named for its owner, who was Clark County's first treasurer and an early territorial legislator. Tours of this site, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, are available by appointment.
John Works House & Mill Site
John Work built the home in 1809 and the mill between 1816 and 1818. An innovative feature of the gristmill is a tunnel constructed at a bend in Fourteen Mile Creek to create an improved mill race. The mill burned in 1827 and the land was sold to the local Boy Scout council, which maintains a scout camp on the property to this day.
Vintage Fire Museum
The Vintage Fire Museum and Safety Education Center, located at 723 Spring Street in Jeffersonville, features a nationally known collection of firefighting equipment originally started by enthusiast Fred Conway. The collection was purchased by the Friends of the New Albany Fire Museum and opened in that city in 2010, but moved to Jeffersonville in 2012.
The Quartermaster Depot was part of a large military installation located in Jeffersonville along Tenth Street. Begun in the 1870's by Quartermaster General Montgomery Meigs, the site expanded from its original quadrangle structure over the course of the later nineteenth through the mid-twentieth centuries as a manufacturing and supply center for the United States Army.
The Schimpff's Candy Museum is operated by the famous candy store at 347 Spring Street in downtown Jeffersonville. It is one of the few candy museums in the United States and displays thousands of pieces of candy memorabilia, equipment, and artifacts. The museum and candy store are open during regular business hours and visitors can watch candy being made on antique equipment.
George Rogers Clark Cabin
George Rogers Clark built a cabin in 1803, in order to live independently from his sister in Locust Grove. After his accident in 1809 he was forced to leave his cabin for good. The original cabin was lost in 1854. However, in anticipation of the Bicentennial events for the Lewis & Clark Expedition, in 2001 a reconstruction of Clark's cabin was built.
Falls of the Ohio State Park
The Falls of the Ohio State Park contains an interpretive center in Clarksville, showcasing the natural and recorded history of the Falls, the only natural barrier to navigation along the entire length of the Ohio River. The center overlooks the 386-million-year-old Devonian era fossil beds , situated in the Ohio River and within a National Wildlife Conservation Area.